Skip to main content
  Cornell University

The University Faculty

Office of the Dean

Faculty Memorial Statements

The University Faculty has always followed the practice of including within the faculty records a memorial resolution on the death of one of its members. The faculty modified this custom, which was begun in the earliest days of Cornell University, in 1938 as follows:

Upon the death of a member of the University Faculty, the President or Dean of Faculty shall formally notify the Faculty at the next meeting and those present shall rise in respect for the memory of the deceased member. The Dean of Faculty Office shall then appoint a committee to prepare an appropriate memorial statement. Such statements shall not be presented in the form of resolutions, as in the past, but shall be annually collected, edited, and printed by the University in a memorial booklet, which shall be sent to members of the Faculty, to the families of the deceased members, and shall be filed with University records.

This booklet, prepared by the Office of the Dean of the University Faculty, contains articles in memory of those thirty University Faculty members whose deaths were reported in the period from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015.  In addition it contains articles honoring a faculty member who died in 2010. The names of the committee members who prepared the statements are given at the end of each article.  Guidelines for Preparation of Memorial Statements – 2017-2018

Last Updated: November 29, 2017 at 3:12 pm