Cornell University Faculty Senate

Spring 2022 Faculty Election Results

Associate Dean of the Faculty

Winner is Chelsea Specht

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

- Method: IRV
- Number of total ballots: 652
- Number of completed ballots: 618
- Number of empty votes: 44
- 2 candidates running for 1 seat

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Chelsea Specht: 327 (53.8%) Marilyn Migiel: 281 (46.2%)

Senator-at-Large (RTE Faculty)

Winners are Allison Chartchyan and Andy Horbal

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

- Method: IRV
- Number of total ballots: 652
- Number of completed ballots: 565
- Number of empty votes: 87
- 5 candidates running for 2 seats

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Allison Chartchyan: 227 (40.2%) Andy Horbal: 133 (23.5%) William Lai: 64 (11.3%) Joseph Skovira: 27 (4.8%) Francis Vanek: 114 (20.2%)

Round 2 Tabulation (count after eliminating Joseph Skovira and transferring votes)

Allison Chartchyan: 235 (41.8%) Andy Horbal: 134 (23.8%) Francis Vanek: 127 (22.6%) William Lai: 66 (11.7%)

Round 3 tabulation (count after eliminating William Lai and transferring votes)

Allison Chartchyan: 259 (47.2%) Andy Horbal: 146 (26.6%) Francis Vanek: 144 (26.2%)

Senator-at-Large (Tenured Faculty)

Winner is Elisha Cohn

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election. The following election was conducted via an SNTV tabulation:

• Method: Single Winner

• Number of total ballots: 652

• Number of completed ballots: 519

• Number of empty votes: 133

• 1 candidate running for 1 seat

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Elisha Cohn: 519

Faculty-Elected Trustee

Winner is David Lee

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

• Method: IRV

• Number of total ballots: 652

• Number of completed ballots: 613

• Number of empty votes: 39

• 4 candidates running for 1 seat

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

David Lee: 250 (40.8%) Laurent Saloff-Coste: 132 (21.5%) Shirley Samuels: 124 (20.2%) Charles Brittain: 107 (17.5%)

Round 2 Tabulation (count after eliminating Charles Brittain and transferring votes)

David Lee: 269 (44.7%) Shirley Samuels: 169 (28.1%) Laurent Saloff-Coste: 164 (27.2%)

Round 3 Tabulation (count after eliminating Laurent Saloff-Coste and transferring votes)

David Lee: 329 (59.2%) Shirley Samuels: 227 (40.8%)

The Committee on Nominations and Elections

Winner is Kenneth Roberts

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

Method: IRV

• Number of total ballots: 652

• Number of completed ballots: 542

• Number of empty votes: 110

• 2 candidates running for 1 seat

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Kenneth Roberts: 317 (58.5%) Benjamin Anderson: 225 (41.5%)

University Faculty Committee (Senator)

Winner is Debbie Cherney

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

• Method: IRV

Number of total ballots: 652

• Number of completed ballots: 563

• Number of empty votes: 89

• 2 candidates running for 1 seat

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Debbie Cherney: 326 (57.9%) Laurent Dubreuil: 237 (42.1%)

University Faculty Committee (Non-Senator) Winners are Sarah Besky and Johannes Lehmann

Of the 3,089 eligible voters, 652, or 21.11%, voted in this election.

The following election was conducted via a ranked Hare System tabulation:

- Method: IRV
- Number of total ballots: 652
- Number of completed ballots: 582
- Number of empty votes: 70
- 5 candidates running for 2 seats

Round 1 Tabulation (count of first choices)

Eric Cheyfitz: 151 (25.9%)
Sarah Besky: 133 (22.9%)
Johannes Lehmann: 118 (20.3%)
Margaret McEntee: 93 (16.0%)
Mingming Wu: 87 (14.9%)

Round 2 Tabulation (count after eliminating Mingming Wu and transferring votes)

Eric Cheyfitz: 156 (27.4%)
Sarah Besky: 154 (27.1%)
Johannes Lehmann: 138 (24.3%)
Margaret McEntee: 121 (21.3%)

Round 3 Tabulation (count after eliminating Margaret McEntee and transferring votes)

Sarah Besky: 196 (35.6%) Johannes Lehmann: 187 (33.9%) Eric Cheyfitz: 168 (30.5%)

Winners are Sarah Besky and Johannes Lehmann