# A.D. White Professors-at-Large Program - Annual Report 2020-21

# A.D. White Professors-at-Large Selection Committee Activities and Formal Campus Visits

## PART I

#### **INTRODUCTION**

The Selection Committee welcomed back Professor David Feldshuh (Performing and Media Arts) for his fifth and final year as Program Chair for the 2020-21 academic year. Professor Robert Weiss (Department of Biomedical Sciences) will assume the role as Program Chair beginning July 1, 2021. The Program Chair plays an integral role in overseeing the activities of the Committee to nominate and select new Professors-at-Large each year. Likewise, the Chair is involved with communications and attending meetings with all faculty hosts scheduled for academic year visits.

This year's meetings were held on September 25, 2020; December 22, 2020; and February 25, 2021.

The 2020-21 activities of the Selection Committee were focused on the annual Call for Nominations initiative requiring three meetings to convene over the course of the past year, involving a robust effort in generating new nominations. There were two Professors-at-Large whose appointments ended June 30, 2021: Bruno Latour (Humanities) and David J. Stevenson (Physical Sciences).

The following is a list of the 2020-21 A.D. White Professors-at-Large Selection Committee:

Leslie Adelson, Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of German Studies (Department Chair)

\*Kathryn Boor, Dean of the Graduate School

Susanne Bruyère, Professor, Industrial and Labor Relations

Cornelia Farnum, Professor Emerita, Biomedical Sciences

\*David Feldshuh, Professor, Performing and Media Arts, ADW Professors-at-Large Program Chair Cynthia Hazen, Professor, Human Development

Bruce Levitt, Professor, Performing and Media Arts

\*Marla Love, Interim Dean of Students

Marilyn Migiel, Department of Romance Studies

Michael Shuler, Professor, Biomedical and Biomolecular Engineering

\*Charles Van Loan, Dean of Faculty; John C. Ford Professor of Engineering, Department of Computer Science

**Jeremy Wallace,** Professor, Department of Government

Robert Weiss, Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences; College of Veterinary Medicine

#### A.D. WHITE PROFESSORS-AT-LARGE SELECTION COMMITTEEE: STRUCTURE

The 13-member The A.D. White Professors-at-Large Selection Committee includes four members who hold the title of ex officio including: Program Chair, Dean of Students, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Dean of Faculty. The membership of the Committee is overseen by the Faculty Senate Nominations and Elections Committee, who select and approve faculty members to hold

<sup>\*</sup>Ex Officio

three-year terms (two-term limit - 6 years) on the ADW-PAL Selection Committee. In 2020-21, there was full membership with no outstanding vacancies which has been the case over several years prior. The Nominations and Elections Committee works to make certain that representation on the committee is reflective of a wide range of Colleges and academic departments (arts, humanities, life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences - alone and in various combinations) across the entire campus.

The Committee reviewed the upcoming vacancy to be addressed this year with David Feldshuh retiring his seat. The replacement for next year is Tao Goffe (Africana Studies and Research Center; Feminist, Gender and Sexuality Studies). Current Selection Committee members Susanne Bruyère (ILR) and Cynthia Hazen (Human Development) have graciously agreed to continue for a second three-year term. It should be noted that beginning July 1, 2020, Kathryn Boor assumed the Committee role formerly held by Barbara Knuth, as Dean of the Graduate School. It should be noted that Professor Charles Van Loan completed his term as Dean of Faculty in June, 2021. His successor, Associate Professor Eve De Rosa, will assume the Dean of Faculty position on the ADW-PAL Selection Committee as of July 1, 2021.

#### A.D. WHITE PROFESSORS-AT-LARGE: PROCESS

Of the 5 nominations that were initially submitted, the following 2 full proposal nominations were selected in February, 2021, and invited to move forward for consideration. Subsequently, these candidates were approved at the May, 2021, Board of Trustees meeting:

- Dr. May Berenbaum (Department Head and Swanlund Endowed Chair, Department of Entomology, University of Illinois)
- Dr. Ellen Rothenberg (Albert Billings Ruddock Professor of Biology, California Institute of Technology)

#### **PART II**

## A.D. WHITE PROFESSORS-AT-LARGE VISITS AND ACTIVITIES

The Program schedules, plans, implements and evaluates formal campus visits by Professors-at-Large throughout the academic year. During their time on campus, Professors-at-Large engage in a lively schedule of classes, meetings and other presentations. Three ADW-PAL visits per semester allows sufficient time to schedule a wide variety of activities, and to inform and gather a dedicated and ample audience.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, formal on-campus visits were suspended for the 2020-21 academic year.

In accordance with Cornell University policies regarding COVID-19, the following visits for fall 2020 were cancelled and will be rescheduled to a future date:

#### **FALL 2020**

XU BING (Arts) - September 8-14, 2020 CARL WIEMAN (Physical Science) - September 27-October 2, 2020 WYNTON MARSALIS (Arts) - November 2020 (dates TBD) In accordance with Cornell University policies regarding COVID-19, the following visits for spring 2021 were cancelled and will be rescheduled to a future date:

## **SPRING 2021**

BRAM GOVAERTS (Life Sciences) - March 7-23, 2021 STEVE QUAKE (Life Sciences) - April 5-9, 2021 LYNN MESKELL (Social Sciences) - April 11-17, 2021

The following are formal campus visits scheduled in advance of the 2021-22 academic year:

#### **FALL 2021**

CARL WIEMAN (Physical Science) - September 27-October 2, 2021 MARTÍN CAPARRÓS (Humanities) - October 18-22, 2021 WYNTON MARSALIS (Arts) - October 31 - November 6, 2021

## **SPRING 2022**

BRAM GOVAERTS (Life Sciences) - March 14-18, 2022 LYNN MESKELL (Social Sciences) - April 18-22, 2022 JOHN RICKFORD (Social Sciences) - May 3-9, 2022

The program is in the process of working with faculty hosts to plan the visits for fall, 2021, and spring, 2022, with the full understanding that unanticipated modifications may need to be made in the course of that planning, as the University continues to implement its campus reactivation plan and finalize guidance regarding COVID-19. Additionally, the Selection Committee is aware of the financial constraints produced by the COVID-19 pandemic and will adapt to the situation, accordingly.

Respectfully Submitted: Professor David Feldshuh (Performing and Media Arts; Program Chair, A.D. White Professors-at-Large)

Prepared by: Cindy Greco, Program Administrator