S1. The Voting and Nonvoting Members of the RTE Faculty

Current Proposed

I. Introduction

C. The "University Faculty" (sometimes referred to herein as "the Faculty") shall mean the body defined as such in the Bylaws of Cornell University, as now in effect or as amended from time to time hereafter. At present, the Faculty comprises: (1) as voting members, the President, Professors Emeriti, University professors, professors-at-large in residence, and all professors, associate professors and assistant professors and all courtesy professorial ranks of the several colleges, schools and separate academic departments, divisions and centers at Ithaca and Geneva; (2) as nonvoting members, the professors, associate professors and assistant professors in (a) the Medical College and (b) those bearing the adjunct, visiting or acting title; and (3) such other persons as may have been, or may hereafter be, elected by the Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of the Faculty, to voting or non-voting membership therein (Bylaws of Cornell University, Article XII, Section 1).

I. Introduction

C. The "University Faculty" (sometimes referred to herein as "the Faculty") shall mean the body defined as such in the Bylaws of Cornell University, as now in effect or as amended from time to time hereafter. At present, the Faculty comprises: (1) as voting members, the President, Professors Emeriti, University professors, professors-at-large in residence, and all professors, associate professors and assistant professors and all courtesy professorial ranks of the several colleges, schools and separate academic departments, divisions and centers at Ithaca and Geneva; (2) as nonvoting members, the professors, associate professors and assistant professors in (a) the Medical College and (b) those bearing the adjunct, visiting or acting title; and (3) such other persons as may have been, or may hereafter be, elected by the Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of the Faculty, to voting or non-voting membership therein (Bylaws of Cornell University, Article XII, Section 1).

Research-Teaching-Extension (RTE) faculty with voting rights are those who have the title research professor (all ranks), clinical professor (all ranks), professor-of-the-practice (all ranks), lecturer (all ranks), research associate (all ranks), extension associate (all ranks), senior scientist, senior scholar, research scientist, principal research scientist, librarian (all ranks), or archivist (all ranks).

RTE faculty without voting rights are those who have the title visiting scientist, visiting critic, visiting scholar, visiting fellow, instructor, or teaching associate as well as those whose title is modified by "visiting", "acting", or "courtesy".