Faculty Senate October 17, 2018

To promote the communication of opposing views and to serve as a free-speech-with-respect model for the rest of the campus, all discussion in the Faculty Senate must be conducted in a civil fashion that is free of any intimidation or personal attacks.

Announcements

Charlie Van Loan
Dean of Faculty

The NTT Titleholder Representation Initiative (Update)

Need to change 12 words in the University Bylaws so that the University Faculty (i.e., tenured/tenure track faculty) can unambiguously decide two things:

- (a) who can serve in the Faculty Senate and vote
- (b) who can vote for Faculty Trustee.

Change in Article XIII to Allow for Expanded Representation in the Faculty Senate

Current

The nonvoting members of the University Faculty shall consist of the university professors, professors, associate professors and assistant professors in the Medical College, and those bearing the adjunct, visiting or acting title. The University Faculty may grant to any group of **nonvoting members** the right to vote on any question deemed by the University Faculty to be of interest to such group.

Proposed

The nonvoting members of the University Faculty shall consist of the university professors, professors, associate professors and assistant professors in the Medical College, and those bearing the adjunct, visiting or acting title. The University Faculty may grant to any group of **instructional and research staff** the right to vote on any question deemed by the University Faculty to be of interest to such group.

Change in Article II to give the University Faculty the right to choose who can vote for Trustee

Current

Two trustees shall be elected from among and by the faculty of the University at Ithaca and Geneva for terms of four years each, at least one being elected every second year.

Proposed

Two trustees shall be elected from among the University Faculty at Ithaca and Geneva for terms of four years each, at least one being elected every second year. The University Faculty shall determine the electorate.

Correct a Handy Typo in Article XIII

Current

There shall be a Dean of the University Faculty who shall be elected in such manner as the University Faculty may determine, for a term of not to exceed three years. The **University Faculty Senate** may extend the term of the Dean of the University Faculty for a period not to exceed two years.

Proposed

There shall be a Dean of the University Faculty who shall be elected in such manner as the University Faculty may determine, for a term of not to exceed three years. The **Faculty Senate** may extend the term of the Dean of the University Faculty for a period not to exceed two years.

Request Senate Permission to Propose these University Bylaw Changes

The Two-Step Approval Process:

Committee on Academic Affairs (November Meeting)

Full Board (January Meeting)

No problems anticipated. So while this is going on we will present a finished version of the <u>proposal</u> at the November meeting with voting in the December meeting.

We Mourn the Loss of these Faculty Members 2017-18

David J. BenDaniel

Michael Hugh Dickson

Donald Thorn Farley, Jr.

Roger Hamlin Farrell

Olan Forker

Carl F. Gortzig

Martin B. Harrison

John Hsu

Michael C. Kelley

Olaf Larson

Bonnie Graham MacDougall

Eugene Lewis Madsen

Jerrold Meinwald

Edward Carlos Melby, Jr.

Eleanore Mikus

Roy L. Millar

Arthur Ovaska

Nathan Hiram Peck, Sr.

Myron Rush

Sang J. Shin

Lynn Stout

Bud Christopher Tennant

James Shelby Thorp

Charles H. Uhl

Jaroslav Vanek

William J. Wasmuth

Robert H. Wasserman

Memorial statements written by colleagues and others can be found here.