Skip to main content
  Cornell University

The University Faculty

Office of the Dean

Article I. The University

1. Name

The corporate name of the University, as provided in its Charter,  is CORNELL UNIVERSITY

2. Object and Powers

Cornell University is an educational corporation organized and existing under the laws of the State of New York. Its leading objects and powers shall be those set forth in its Charter at Article 115 of the New York Education Law. Such objects and powers also are controlled in part by other applicable provisions of the Education Law and of the Not-for-Profit CorporationCornell University continues as the land grant institution for New York State as designated in its original Charter of 1865. In this capacity the University continues to exercise all of the rights and responsibilities conferred by pertinent federal and state legislation.

3. Address

The principal office and business address of the Corporation is at Ithaca, New York.

4. Seals

(a) The great seal of Cornell University shall be circular in form, two inches in diameter, and shall bear in the outer circle the words “Cornell University” and “Founded A.D. 1865”, in the inner circle the words “Ezra Cornell ‘I would found an institution where any person can find instruction in any study'”, and in the center a profile likeness of Ezra Cornell. The great seal of the University shall be affixed to or imprinted upon diplomas issued by Cornell University. The custodian of the great seal shall be the President.

(b) The corporate seal of Cornell University shall be circular in form, one and one-half inches in diameter, and shall bear in the outer circle the words “Cornell University” and “Founded A.D. 1865”, and in the center, above the words “Ezra Cornell”, a profile likeness of Ezra Cornell. The corporate seal of the University shall be used whenever required in the execution of instruments or official documents of the University other than diplomas. The custodian of the corporate seal shall be the Secretary of the Corporation.

5. Fiscal Year

The fiscal year of the University shall be July 1 through June 30.

6. Academic Year

The academic year is the approximately nine-month period beginning two working days before registration in the fall term and ending on the last day of final examinations in the spring term. The summer period is defined as the period between the last day of one academic year and the first day of the following academic year.

7. Colleges Schools and Other Separate Academic Units

Cornell University shall consist of such colleges, schools, centers and other separate academic units as have been or may be established by the Board of Trustees from time to time, The colleges, schools and major academic units are as follows

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
College of Architecture, Art and Planning College of Arts and Sciences
College of Business College of Engineering Graduate School
School of Hotel Administration College of Human Ecology
School of Industrial and Labor Relations Law School
Johnson Graduate School of Management Medical College
Graduate School of Medical Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine
School of Continuing Education and Summer Sessions University Libraries
Cornell NYC Tech

Last Updated: July 16, 2017 at 5:35 am