Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is responsible for reviewing all University research and teaching activities conducted by faculty, staff, students, and/or visiting scientists on Cornell Property that involve the use of biohazardous materials (regulated animal and plant pathogens, biological toxins, and recombinant DNA molecules).  (More)

This table is a list of the members of the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC), along with the abbreviation of the name of the college they belong to and the year that they are appointed through.

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) Memberships

Member Name:


Appointed through:

Colin Parrish (Co-Chair) CVM 2020
Esther Angert (Co-Chair) CALS 2020
Georg Jander CALS 2020
David G. Russell CVM 2021
Jane Lee
CVM 2022
Anthony Hay CALS 2021
Bryan Swingle CALS 2022
Ping Wang CALS 2020
Matthew Willmann CALS 2022
Julia Felippe CVM 2022
Christy Michaels Community Member 2021
Cathy Moseley Moore Community Member 2020
Vice Provost for Research Ex officio, non-voting
Dean of Faculty Ex officio, non-voting
Director ORIA Ex officio, non-voting
CALS Greenhouse Manager Ex officio, non-voting
Biological Safety Officer Ex officio, voting
Biosafety Engineer Ex officio, voting
Physician Ex officio, voting
Veterinarian Ex officio, voting
Biological Safety Specialist Ex officio, voting alternate
Associate Biosafety Officer – vacant Ex officio, voting alternate
Physician Ex officio, voting alternate
Agricultural Veterinarian Ex officio, voting alternate
Print Friendly, PDF & Email